In tennis, a “fault” is when a player fails to correctly hit the ball during their service. When this happens, the other player receives a point and the player who committed the fault must start over with their serve. If you’re new to tennis, or just want to brush up on the rules, read on to learn more about faults and how they are Committed in tennis.
How are Faults Committed in Tennis?
There are three ways that a fault can be committed in tennis: by hitting the ball into the net, by hitting the ball outside of the service box, or by double-faulting. Let’s take a closer look at each one.
Hitting the ball into the net: This is pretty self-explanatory—if you hit the ball into the net while serving, it’s considered a fault. The exception to this rule is if your opponent hits the ball into the net before it has a chance to bounce, in which case it’s considered a let and you get to serve again.
Hitting the ball outside of the service box: The service box is a rectangle that is behind each baseline and extends from one sideline to another. If you hit your serve outside of this area, it’s considered a fault. The only time this isn’t the case is if your opponent hits Your serve before it has a chance to bounce, in which case it’s once again ruled as a let.
Double-faulting: A double fault happens when you commit two faults in a row while serving. This usually happens because your nerves got the better of you after committing your first fault, but it can also happen if you hit two serves in quick succession that both go out of bounds or into the net.
If you double-fault, your opponent gets to choose between receiving the point or having another chance to return your serve (with You starting over from 0-0).
Conclusion: A fault in tennis occurs when a player fails to correctly hit their serve and as a result gives their opponent a point. Faults can be committed by hitting the ball into Netting,missing the service box, or by double-faulting. If you’re new to tennis or just want to brush up on The rules, hopefully this article has clarified things for you! Thanks for reading!